Back to site

XXL - Puff O'Gigio LP (Heavyweight)

Image of XXL - Puff O'Gigio LP (Heavyweight)


Pre-order. Release date is 7th December 2018.

Watch and listen to Ghost Maid here

Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Ghost Maid
3. Interlude
4. Carissimo
5. To Carol Rama
6. Polar Bear Boogie Part 01
7. Polar Bear Boogie Part 02
8. Welcome To My Planet
9. Lemoning
10. Queen Of Koalas
11. Outro

XXL is the unholy union of Xiu Xiu and Italian experimental band Larsen. Written and recorded in a single week in Italy, Puff O’Gigio is XXL’s fourth album.

Puff O'Gigio is a mythological, genetically modified character - a cross between the notorious Belgian 2-apple sized blue creatures and the equally popular Italian talking and dancing mice.

The album inhabits the same colourful, intersectional world as the character, telling stories of wild animals, dub echoes, feminist art(ists), alternative ecosystems and assorted fetishes.

The fantasy themes are matched with equally fanciful music - the album sounds like listening in to someone else’s dream.

Powered by a constant sense of yearning and a sense of needing to break free from some unseen chains, this album swings from unabashed pop to clanging experimentalism, to moments of exorcism.

Puff O'Gigio was written and performed by Fabrizio Modonese Palumbo, Jamie Stewart, Marco Schiavo, Paolo Dellapiana, Roberto Maria Clemente, enriched by sonic contributions by Angela Seo, recorded and mixed by Paul Beauchamp at O.F.F. Studio Torino (Italy) and mastered by James Plotkin.